ITIL V3 Foundation or ITIL 2011

In this article, I have discussed about ITIL. It's a very important component of todays' corporate world. ITIL V3 foundation and ITIL 2011 are same with a few additional topics in later. Please read below to know more about it.


ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL was previously known as ITIL V3 Foundation which has now been renamed as ITIL 2011. It's a very widely used and most accepted approach in the world because of it's organized and well planned platform. It is a combination of all the best practices by the organizations all over the world. It's a united and effective set of best practices experienced by most of the top companies all over the world.

Apparently, it's the best practices of ITSM which is Information Technology Service Management which is meant to align the best practices of IT world with the daily business requirements. ITIL comprises of five core publications and each publication covers ITSM life cycle. ITIL is a basic structure to ISO/IEC 20000 which was previously known as BS15000 which is nothing but the ITSM standard for IT Service Management.

ITIL includes processes, procedures, tasks and the milestone not specific to any one organization but it does meet the competencies of the companies in general to some extent. It's used by the companies globally to align their business strategy with the business needs existing in it.

This framework helps a firm to plan, implement and measure their goals with compliance and directs an organization towards the improvement of their services.

ITIL is a registered trademark of UK cabinet office and owned by HM Government however it was previously owned by OGC. Apparently, CCTA was merged with OGC. With the growth of IT and the business dependency on it to a very large extent, Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) recommended that all the companies both private and public sectors will have to practise standard for implementing ITSM.

It was built on the basis of process-model for controlling and managing business by using PDCA cycle of Edwards Deming. PDCA stands for Plan, Do, Check, Act.

ITIL 2011 edition consists of five core publications. They are as follows:

1. Service Strategy

2. Service Design

3. Service Transition

4. Service Operation

5. Continual Service Improvement

Each of the above publications covers the entire life cycle of ITSM.

Service Strategy

It helps the organizations to improve and develop in the long term. It's majorly based on Market-driven approach which covers service value, assets, analysis and providers. Please see the link below to know more about it.

ITIL V3 Foundation or ITIL 2011 - Service Strategy

Service Design

It guides the organizations to design the services being offered by the organization, processes practised by them and a few other components of ITSM. It checks catalogue of services, SLA management, Availability, Capacity, Security, Supplier and Continuity management. Please see the link below to know more about it.

ITIL V3 Foundation or ITIL 2011 - Service Design publication stages

Service Transition

It talks about the delivery of infrastructure services to the business needs and different aspects of IT projects. It covers Planning and Support, Change management, asset, release and deployment management, change evaluation and knowledge management.

Service Operation

It aims at achieving the delivery of agreed service levels to the clients and their end users. It monitors the issues faced by the infrastructures for a smooth delivery of services and also looks at the cost efficieny. It manages the infrastrucure servives like Operation management, Application management, Technical Management and Service Desk management which is nothing but IT help desk.

It also manages the processes like Incident, Event, Problem, Access and Request fulfillment managements.

Continual Service Improvement

It keeps aligining and realigning IT services to changing business needs by looking at the ways and processes towards improvement of IT services in an organization. It takes help d Deming's cycle of PDCA in order to acheive its goal. It improves process and cost efficiencies of IT processes in an organization. It consists of 7 steps as mentioned below.

1. Identify the strategy

2. Define the goal to be measured

3. Collecting Data

4. Processing Data

5. Analysis of information and Data

6. Use the information after analysis

7. Implementing the idea of improvement

Thus, the framework of ITIL gives the organization a lot of benefits like improved IT services, cost reduction, enhanced customer satisfaction, productivity improvement, proper and complete utilization of resources, etc.

I would talk about all the above managements in detail in my other articles. Each management and process will be one complete article which would describe each in detail.

Certifications and accreditions of ITIL

There are various types of certifications in ITIL for the employees to certify themselves by OGC. ITIL is accredeited by Information Systems Examinations Board (ISEB) which gives delegate to various organization for ITIL foundation certificate for Service Management.

There's one more organization called EXIN which provides ITIL examination.

There would be testing centres in each location which are authorized by EXIN, Pearson, ISEB, etc to conduct exams and complete the certification process. These testing centres often provides training on ITIL too and helps the candidates qualify the exam by preparing them by sharing best practices, question bank, databases, etc.

Related Articles

ITIL V3 Foundation or ITIL 2011 – Service operation

In this article, I would highlight the processes involved in the fourth publication of ITIL – Service Operation. Please read the below article to know in detail about this publication and also related ITIL publication articles.

More articles: Itil


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: