How to temporarily disable your Instagram account or delete it permanently?


You will permanently lose your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers when you delete your account. Alternatively, you can temporarily disable your account to take a break. Temporarily disabling your account will hide your profile, photos, comments, and likes until you log back in to reactivate it.

Social media platforms like Instagram are the ultimate virtual connectors. Instagram is easily one of the world's top social media platforms, thanks to its stunning visuals and increasingly valuable features. There are times when good things must come to an end, though. If you want to permanently delete your Instagram account or just need a short social media detox, this guide will teach you everything you need to know about deactivating your account.

Deactivate your Instagram account


Since deleting your Instagram account is permanent, Instagram recommends temporarily disabling it first. You will still be able to recover the account and all of your content if you do that.

How to deactivate your Instagram account?


A deactivated Instagram account is a great way to either take a break from social media or decide whether you want to delete your Instagram account entirely. Deactivating your account temporarily is a straightforward process. On Android, however, Instagram does not allow you to delete an account as it does on iPhone. It's weird, but no big deal. Just log in to your account via your desktop browser, and make sure you have your login details.

Here's how to deactivate Instagram:
  • Go to your desktop browser.

  • Visit Instagram.

  • Sign in to your account.

  • At the top-right corner of the page, click on your profile picture.

  • Click Edit Profile.

  • You can temporarily disable your account by scrolling down and clicking the bottom-right corner.

  • Choose a reason for disabling your account when prompted.

  • Passwords must be entered again.

  • Select Temporarily Disable My Account.

Insta Image 1

Remember, following these instructions will prevent your followers from seeing your content. Until you reactivate your account by logging in again, no one will be able to see it.

For how long can you disable Instagram?


Your account can be disabled for as long as you like. Logging back in at any time will reactivate it. There is, however, one restriction. Instagram accounts can only be disabled once a week at this time. If you disable it, log back in, and decide you want to disable it again, you'll need to wait a week.

When your Instagram account is disabled, do you lose followers?


Not at all. When you temporarily disable your Instagram account, Instagram will restore it to the state it was in when you deleted it because Instagram stores all of your account data. When you disable your account, everything on the platform will disappear - including other accounts' followers' lists. People won't be able to unfollow you if your account is hidden because they won't be able to find you.

Delete your Instagram account


If you have already disabled your Instagram account (or deleted the app from your phone), but want to take more drastic measures, you can do so relatively easily. It is important to remember that deleting your account is permanent and cannot be reversed.

If you wish to delete your account, you must have your correct login information available.

How to delete your Instagram account on your desktop?


As of this writing, you cannot delete your Instagram account from the Instagram app. It's just as easy to delete your Instagram account on your desktop. Here's how you can do it:
  • Launch your desktop browser.

  • Visit Instagram's Delete Your Account page.

  • Follow the prompts to log in if you are not logged in.

  • Choose a reason for disabling your account when prompted.

  • Passwords need to be re-entered.

  • Click Permanently Delete My Account.

Insta Image 2

In the Instagram app, how do you remove an account?


You can always remove your Instagram account from the app if you don't want to disable or delete it. You can always remove your Instagram account from the app if you don't want to disable or delete it. If you want to continue using the Instagram app, you'll need to create a new account or add another Instagram account.

You can remove an Instagram account by following these steps:
  • Go to the Instagram app and open it.

  • In the bottom-right corner, click the profile picture icon.

  • At the top-center of the screen, click the downward-facing arrow next to your username.

  • Click the three horizontal lines at the top of the screen.

  • Press Settings > Log Out.


If you only have one Instagram account logged in, this method will work. Instagram's Single Login For Multiple Instagram Accounts feature makes removing one account a little trickier if you have multiple accounts. We were able to work around it, fortunately.

If you're logged into more than one account on Instagram, here's how to remove one:
  • Hold down Instagram on your iPhone.

  • Choose Delete App from the menu.

  • Open the App Store after waiting a few moments.

  • Search for Instagram

  • Download the Instagram app

  • Open the app

  • Selecting an account will allow you to remove it.

  • Press the Remove button.

Insta Image 3

This will reset all of your information and log you out of all of your accounts. You can simply log in using the accounts you wish to keep on the app and remove those you no longer want.

What happens when you delete or deactivate your Instagram?


The first decision you need to make if you want to get rid of your Instagram account is whether to deactivate it or delete it altogether.

When you deactivate your Instagram account


It is much different from deleting your Instagram account to deactivating it. You are only temporarily disabling an Instagram account when you deactivate it. You won't be able to see any of your photos, comments, likes, or even your profile, but they won't be gone forever. You can reactivate your account at any time.

When you delete your Instagram account


On the other hand, deleting your Instagram account will have a much more lasting effect. You will lose all of your Instagram histories when you delete your account. The result is a permanent deletion of all your photos, videos, Story archives, messages, likes, and followers. It is impossible to get them back. Your account will disappear as if it never existed.

You are the only one who can delete your Instagram account; Instagram cannot do it for you for security reasons. Instagram cannot reactivate a deleted account, so you should be 100% sure that you want it removed before deleting your account.

If you delete your Instagram account and later decide you want to reactivate it, you are welcome to do so. The old account cannot be reactivated - and you cannot sign up for a new account with the same username.

Bottom Line


The Instagram app is great, but it isn't for everyone. We hope this guide made removing your Instagram account a little easier, whether you want to take a break from social media or run from it altogether. You can also learn how to delete an Instagram post from our guide.


Related Articles

How To View And Download Instagram Profile Picture In High Resolution?

Instagram has been one of the most popular among the social media networks. You can share the images and the memorable moments of your life with the extended family through the service. However, it has a few stringent policy guidelines - one of them being not able to view the profile picture of the member in full size. We present a simple option to achieve it.

4 Android Settings That You Should Change Right Now

In this article, you can find some pretty amazing useful Android setting changes that can enhance the user experience on various apps like hiding images from Gallery for Whatsapp, or Incognito mode on Youtube.

How to do a reverse image search on Instagram?

Instagram is one of the most widely used social media platforms. In fact, you would be impressed with the umpteen possibilities offered by Instagram. But, you also run the risk of your images and videos being plagiarised. How to find if you are suffering any of those issues?

More articles: Instagram

Comments



  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:
    Email: