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  • Please explain me the various terms used in Google AdSense.

    I want to know the meanings and the purposes of various terminologies used in Google AdSense. I know some of the terms meaning and their use, but for few others that I dont understand. A couple of them are as follows:
    1. CTR - What is it and it should be high or less. And what is best % to have in it.
    2. RPM - What is it?
  • Answers

    3 Answers found.
  • In Adsense account, if you see Page CTR then it stands for "Click Through Rate". The total number of clicks (in terms of overall percentage) you got from the page loaded or impressions or page views.
    Page RPM means "Revenue Per Thousand impressions".
    Let's say for example, if you got 500 page impressions, 50 clicks in your ads and $5 as Adsense revenue from 50 clicks then the Page CTR is about 10% and RPM is $100.
    Page CTR shouldn't be less than 1% and shall not be higher as well since higher Page CTR can be of "Invalid Clicks" or "Click Bombing". Try to ensure that your CTR is less than 6% to avoid any issue.
    The more RPM the more chances to earn revenue - it means your page had displayed costly ads for related keyword that helped you.

    Regards,

  • Cost-per-thousand-impressions (CPM)

    The CPM is the amount paid by an advertiser to the user for every 1000 times the user views his/her ad and there is a record of the impression.

    Effective CPM

    From a advertiser's point of view, the effective cost-per-thousand impressions -eCPM is a more better way to have a comparision of revenues across different advertising programs and also channels. It is calculatiion is made by dividing the total earnings by the total number of impressions in thousands only . For example, if a publisher has earned Rs 9000 from 45,000 impressions, the eCPM would equal 9000/45, or Rs 200. However, please have a note that eCPM is a feature that does not exactly represent the actual amount paid to a publisher.

    Actual cost-per-thousand-impressions

    This is the amount an advertiser actually pays for each impression of his/her ad. The AdWords Discounter automatically gives advertisers the lowest possible price in order to maintain their ad's position. The actual CPM will be equal to or less than the maximum CPM specified.

    Clickthrough rate (CTR)

    In AdSense publisher reports, clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of clicks an ad receives divided by the number of times the ad, ad unit, or page is shown, depending on the type of impressions you're viewing.


    Cost-per-action (CPA)

    The cost-per-action (CPA) is the amount an advertiser pays when a user completes a certain action. For example, an airline might pay a certain CPA every time a user clicks on their ad and then purchases a plane ticket.

    Cost-per-click (CPC)

    The CPC is the amount an advertiser pays each time a user clicks on his/her ad. Google AdWords has a CPC pricing system.


    Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

    Electronic Funds Transfer, or EFT, is a payment method that directly deposits your AdSense earnings into your bank account. It is available to publishers in a number of locations.

    Invalid click or impression

    Clicks or page impressions generated through prohibited means, and intended to artificially increase click or impression counts on a publisher account. Google's proprietary technology analyzes clicks and impressions to determine whether they fit a pattern of use intended to artificially drive up an advertiser's clicks or a publisher's earnings. Clicks or impressions deemed by us to be invalid should not be included in your earnings.

    Maximum cost-per-thousand-impressions

    The maximum cost-per-thousand-impressions (CPM) an advertiser is willing to pay. The AdWords Discounter automatically reduces this amount so that the actual CPM the advertiser is charged is just one cent more than the minimum necessary to keep his/her ad's position on the page.

    Personal Identification Number (PIN)

    In order to become eligible to receive payments for your AdSense account, all publishers are required to enter a Personal Identification Number (PIN). PINs are printed on white 4.5 x 6 inch (11.4 x 15.2 cm) postcards and sent via standard mail.

  • In Google Adsense reports the publisher can see various terminologies. Though the most common user mostly views the daily earnings and no.of clicks. Few smart Google Adsense publishers may use the detailed report provided for improving thier earnings. Here are some terms which are used mostly to weigh your blog/site performance.

    CTR :
    CTR means Click Through Rate. CTR is devised as percentage(%) of clicks per page views or ad impressions. CTR of 5% means, you are getting 5 clicks for every 100 page views or every 100 ad impressions.

    RPM :
    RPM means Revenue Per Mille (thousand) impressions. RPM is the amount one can earn per thousand ad views. The RPM may vary as per the bid amount each advertiser had set for thousand ad views.

    CPC :
    CPC means Cost Per Click. CPC is the average of the earnings publisher gets for each click. CPC is devised as the total earnings divided by number of clicks.

    Regards,
    Namita Terse


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