Micromax Funbook Infinity Android tablet Review Pros Cons


Get the details about Micromax recently launched Funbook tablet named Micromax Funbook Infinity.Here I have given my review by using this Funbook infinity tablet PC.

Micromax Funbook Infinity Review


Price - Rs. 6,700

Micromax Funbook awed the user by its budget price. Funbook Infinity reached tablet market recently. Funbook Infinity performs gentle with its 7inch capacitive touchscreen display. Micromax haven't change their performance meter from Funbook Pro. Funbook infinity is a 7inch Funbook Pro. Those who enjoyed Funbook Pro and need the same tablet with 7inch can go for Funbook Infinity.

Battery backup: As mentioned in the quotation the battery lasts for 5hours. Micromax Funbook Infinity uses 4000 mAh battery. I continuously saw 2 movies with full battery in Micromax Infinity. This means it is approximately 5 hours of usage. So if you use internet then the battery backup will be 3 to 4 hours. For a 7000 Rupee priced tablet this is okay. If you are searching for very good battery life then this tablet wont impress you.

Sounds and music: It looks that in this tablet the officials have given a special importance to the speakers. I feel the music is clear than their siblings (Funbook Pro & Alpha). They have shown importance to the entertainment. It played all the videos without any lagging. It take few seconds to open a video but after you press play there wont be any problem.

Apps support: First think I like to check in this tablet is Youtube. All videos including HD, 1080 P videos worked fine in this tablet. I recommend you to install only low memory apps. Installing application with huge requirements will cause the tablet lag. Avoid frequent uninstalling in this tablet.

Fall down test: This tablet surface is thick and ponderous that won't break soon. The body of this tablet is mere Funbook pro. Once this tablet slipped from my hands and it made very small scratches on the surface which is not visible to our eyes. This tablet doesn't have any buttons and so don't need to worry about tablet slipping from the hands. Ensure that you have used scratch guard for your screen.

Touchscreen function:Touchscreen is capacitive and works fine. Some pressure is needed to open or browse around the screen. Funbook pro faced touchscreen problem at the borders but this tablet has rectified the problem partially. Still improvement is needed for this touchscreen.

Micromax Funbook Infinity advantage and disadvantage


Pros
(1) Good tablet to choose for budget cost
(2) Play all kinds of video smoothly with clean and clear audio.
(3) Good for reading books, pdf files and word documents.

Cons
(1) Bluetooth and GPS feature is missing. GPS is not so necessary but they may have included bluetooth.
(2) Need some improvement in touchscreen as the edges were unresponsive.
(3) Brightness is low in this tablet. By default it got very minimum amount of brightness.


Related Articles

Best 7 inch Tablets to buy in India

This article contains detailed information about the top 5 7-inch Tablets, their features, specs and price in India. Micromax Funbook Talk, Apple iPad Mini, HCL ME U1, ASUS Google Nexus 7 and iBall Slide 7334 are compared in this article.

More articles: Micromax Funbook Infinity Micromax Funbook Tablets

Comments

Guest Author: sanjay07 Oct 2012

Sir as you mentioned GPS Not available but tablet loaded with google map and flipkart shows it has with google map means what?

Author: Mobile Boy08 Oct 2012 Member Level: Gold   Points : 1

Google Maps means just a Map. This Map can be accessed if you have a normal internet connection. Google maps won't show your position.
GPS means you can locate where you are. There will be a map and a marker and it shows where you are.

Author: Ankit08 Oct 2012 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

Mobile Boy,
Google maps do show your position if you are using it on a mobile.

Author: Mobile Boy08 Oct 2012 Member Level: Gold   Points : 1

Blogger,
I think your mobile will be GPS enabled. Otherwise the position will be based on your service provider.
Using GPS we can navigate with positioning but in Google maps we can only see the route.

Guest Author: satya22 Nov 2012

There is no pdf reader in Micromax Fubook. Even I downloaded it, but my tab is not opening pdf files. Please help me what to do.

Guest Author: abhishek25 Dec 2012

please tell me that i want to buy this micromax funbook infinity p275 so that please tell me there will be gps in that or not?
and also tell that i can use cd drive externall to run cd.
please tell me and about how to connect to internet via wifi

Author: Mobile Boy25 Dec 2012 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

@Satya.
Try using Kingston Office

Abhishek.
Funbook infinity doesn't have GPS. You need Wi-Fi modem to connect internet via Wi-Fi.

Author: SULTHAN12 Jan 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

Dear friends,
Now the price of Micromax Funbook infinity is reduced to Rs.4500. I bought a Micromax Funbook infinity at the price of Rs.4500. I think it is the best tablet with this price.

Author: Mobile Boy13 Jan 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 2

@Sulthan
Ya but I have given the MRP price. It won't reduce every parts of India. Only some shops can offer for Rs.4500.

Where do you bought Micromax Funbook infinity for Rs.4500? Your information will be useful to other users.

Author: SULTHAN13 Jan 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

I bough Micromax funbook infinity from Trivandrum, Kerala. You can also seen in most of the online shopping sites at this price range.

Guest Author: rajeev23 Jan 2013

I recently purchased one Micromax Funbook P275. Wi-fi connectivity is very poor. No Bluetooth.

Author: Mobile Boy03 Feb 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

Ya tablet and mobile phone's Wi-Fi connectivity will be poor than laptop.

Guest Author: nehal23 Feb 2013

I just bought the Micromax Funbook tablet. It does not seem to get switched on. Please help. Does it by default come without any charge or what?

Author: Tony John23 Feb 2013 Member Level: Diamond   Points : 2

Nehal,

When you get a new Micromax tablet, there will be no charge and it may not turn on. Please charge it for few hours according to the instructions. Then try to turn on. It will work. If you use it without charging, you may damage the battery.

Guest Author: Juhita23 Feb 2013

I am thinking of buying the Micromax Funbook for using the office suite on the go. Could you please tell me whether the tablet has in-built/ free to download apps for editing word/powerpoint/excel files?

Author: Mobile Boy24 Feb 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 3

Hi Juhita,
This tablet has in-built office suite but you can only read files. To edit or create your own document you should download Kingston Office which is free and is available in Google Play store. Default Android keyboard won't be nice so download Super Keyboard, it has functions like arrow keys, cut, copy and paste. Below is the link for an article about Super Keyboard.

http://www.techulator.com/resources/8060-Android-keyboard-with-cut-copy-paste-arrow-key-feature.aspx

Guest Author: Juhita24 Feb 2013

Thanks! That's very helpful :)

Author: Syed Musaddiq Nabi Andrabi24 Feb 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 4

This is really a helpul resource article. I recently bought Micromax Funbook Infinity at 4600 INR. Its is really an amazing device. The features are really enjoyable. But I have a question to you. Can you please tell me how to upgrade this tab to android 4.1 jellybean. I have heard that this version supports a lot more apps and games from the play store tha the other version. So, kindly tell me if there is any way to upgrade it to android 4.1 jellybean from android 4.0 ice cream sandwich. This will be so nice of you.

Author: SULTHAN24 Feb 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 2

There is no official update. But if you root your tablet, you can use Jelly Bean CFW. In my opinion, most of the apps are also available in ICS also. So no need to update your OS. Also, rooting void your warranty.

Guest Author: mastanbaba05 Mar 2013

I am shortlisting two tablets

1. Micromax Inifinity P275
2. Celkon CT7

Which is a better choice? Please tell me.

Author: Mobile Boy05 Mar 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

I have used Micromax Inifinity P275 and I know it one of the best tablet for its price. I don't know about Celkon CT7. If you wanna risk yourself buy Celkon or better you can buy Micromax itself.

Guest Author: Asif13 Mar 2013

my Micromax funbook infinity tablets censor is not working properly, when i play a censor game the bike automatically goes to the left side. tel me what is the solution.

Author: Asif13 Mar 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 2

My Micromax funbook infity tablets censor is not working properly, when i play any censor game like bike moto, the bike automatically goes to left side & get scratched.please tell me what is the solution.

Author: Mobile Boy13 Mar 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 2

@Asif
Ya, its not a problem. You need to change the settings for few games inorder to make the sensor work correctly. For that in your tablet,

Open Settings -> Dispaly -> Accelerometer Coordination System

Now a dialog box will be opened. In that choose "Special Coodination system, to support some other games".

Guest Author: vishal27 Mar 2013

hello dear,
im planning to buy this tablet
does it support 3g dongles?
what is ppi pxiel density of this tab?

Author: Mobile Boy30 Mar 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 3

It supports all dongles, for unrecognized dongle you need to configure manually. I am using Tata Photon Plus and it will be detected automatically. It supports 3G dongles too. I don't know the ppi details its neither available in box nor official site. For more details about 3G dongle read the article in below link.

http://www.techulator.com/resources/9113-How-to-access-3g-Android-tablet-via-external-dongle.aspx

Guest Author: sunil02 Apr 2013

I recently bought mmx p275 tablet ,but there is no bluetooth ,can Wireless USB Mini Bluetooth Dongle works on this tablet ?

Thanks in advance

sunil

Guest Author: pandey02 Apr 2013

Can I connect my tablet P275 to mobile for internet? Please reply.

Author: Mobile Boy03 Apr 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 2

No you can't. Mobile phone doesn't have such facility so far. To use internet via another device you need drivers, mobile or tablet doesn't have such drivers. Currently you can access internet in a tablet by Wi-Fi, external dongle (SIM & 3G) and ethernet.

Guest Author: Tanmaya Bhoi11 Apr 2013

I want to connect my fun-book infinity to Ethernet. Please help me how to do this.

Author: BatMan14315 Apr 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 5

1) i have idea 3G netsetter-huawei E1732(e173Du-1), i wanna purchase this

tab micromax funbook infinity but i heard that this tab only supports tata

photon plus dongle and it does not supports other dongles and when other

dongles are connected then it hangs. is it true? how to use other dongles(idea

3G netsetter) on micromax funbook infinity? please explain in step by step

process...please check this link once..

customer-carenumber.in/5098/micromax-funbook-infinity-supports-dongles-

other-tata-photon

2) can we watch online streaming youtube videos on micromax funbook

infinity? can we do flash chat(chat-rooms.co.in) on micromax funbook infinity?

3) is there any custom rom available for micromax funbook infinity ?

Author: Mobile Boy15 Apr 2013 Member Level: Gold   Points : 3

1. I haven't tried using dongles. Once I tried Tata Photon +, once I plug-in I was connected to internet.
2. Yes, you can watch streaming Youtube videos perfectly. Only thing is you need to have a internet connection. I access internet through Wi-Fi and my network speed is 512 Kbps.
> Yes, you can do chat from chat-rooms.co.in. Only thing you need a desktop version browser, UC-web browser do this task perfectly.
3. Currently there is no custom ROM for Micromax infinity.

Guest Author: BatMan14315 Apr 2013

can u try idea 3G net setter- huawei E1732 on micromax funbook infinity? please.. because i wanna purchase this tab but dongle support to this tab is looking like a mess. after purchasing this tab if this tab does not supports my idea netsetter then what i can do? then it will be a waste of money

i have 3 tabs in my mind at my budget 5000/-

1)micromax funbook infinity----price 4000/-
2)HCL ME tablet U2----price 5500/-
3)Celkon CT7-----5000/-

as funbook infinity doesnt supports other dongles i removed it from my mind, now which tab is best among the remaining two tabs hcl me tab u2 and celkon ct7

Author: BatMan14315 Apr 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 4

can u try idea 3G net setter- huawei E1732 on micromax funbook infinity?

please.. because i wanna purchase this tab but dongle support to this tab is

looking like a mess. after purchasing this tab if this tab does not supports my

idea netsetter then what i can do? then it will be a waste of money

i have 3 tabs in my mind at my budget 5000/-

1)micromax funbook infinity----price 4000/-
2)HCL ME tablet U2----price 5500/-
3)Celkon CT7-----5000/-

as funbook infinity doesnt supports other dongles i removed it from my mind,

now which tab is best among the remaining two tabs hcl me tab u2 and celkon ct7

Guest Author: vishal15 Apr 2013

I am facing some issues with the WiFi connectivity of my Micromax infinity 275 tab. sometimes it connects to my WiFi network (BSNL) and sometime it doesn't. even when it connects to WiFi it takes long time to connect (>5 mins). is there any known issue with the Micromax infinity wifi connectivity? is there any setting i need to do to make this connectivity smooth?

Guest Author: vishal15 Apr 2013

I think Micromax Infinity 275 supports other dongles as well. I have tried to connect it with the Aircel dongle and it worked fine.

Author: BatMan14315 Apr 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 6

i searched in the net people not facing problems with wifi in funbook infinity, may be there is a problem in your funbook infinity wifi or your bsnl wifi modem

Wi-Fi connectivity settings in funbook infinity
--------------------------------------------------
1. Tap on Menu> to access the Settings.
2. Under Wireless & Networks, tap and enable Wi-Fi.
3. Tap the desired Wi-Fi service from the list.
4. Provide the Wi-Fi credentials for logging in.
You can also scan to search for Wi-Fi network or Add Network to add your Wi-Fi manually.
(I found these settings from funbook infinity manual in net)


1)is ur aircel dongle is unlocked?
2)if your aircel dongle is unlocked then what unlock process u used(DC unlocker method? did u installed mobile partner dash board in the dongle?when u connect the dongle to pc then which dash board is opening...aircel dash board or mobile partner dash board?)
3)which sim is used in aircel dongle?

Guest Author: Debraj Deb18 Apr 2013

I have been using a Micromax dongle for quite some time on my laptop (Compaq Presario CQ40). Now I bought this Micromax Funbook Infinity. Given tha I would be using a Micromax dongle on a Micromax tablet, I didnt ask anything about compatibility issues to the retailer. I got home and tried to connect the tab with the dongle with all the hubs and wires it carries alongwith, and it went like poooh! I tried several common tactics people suggested me like I went to menu>settings>wireless and networks>More>Mobile Networks>Access Point Names.
There was just NOTHING. I have been fumbling with this tablet for last 2 days and there is nothing of a solution I see anywhere within a few miles. I am really perplexed about what to do with it. If Micromax tablet doesnt recognize a dongle of its own brand, what would people possibly buy it for? Frankly,I am heavily disappointed. Can anyone suggest anything?

Guest Author: Debraj Deb18 Apr 2013

I have been using a Micromax dongle for quite some time on my laptop (Compaq Presario CQ40). Now I bought this Micromax Funbook Infinity. Given tha I would be using a Micromax dongle on a Micromax tablet, I didnt ask anything about compatibility issues to the retailer. I got home and tried to connect the tab with the dongle with all the hubs and wires it carries alongwith, and it went like poooh! I tried several common tactics people suggested me like I went to menu>settings>wireless and networks>More>Mobile Networks>Access Point Names.
There was just NOTHING. I have been fumbling with this tablet for last 2 days and there is nothing of a solution I see anywhere within a few miles. I am really perplexed about what to do with it. If Micromax tablet doesnt recognize a dongle of its own brand, what would people possibly buy it for? Frankly,I am heavily disappointed. Can anyone suggest anything?

Guest Author: jaunty22 Apr 2013

hi guys.. I recently bought p275. since it has no bluetooth and I want to transfer some files from my android phone to the tablet... how can I do it through usb. besides tablet is not detecting pendrive also. Is there any special setting for that

Guest Author: jaunty22 Apr 2013

I recently bought P275. Since it has no Bluetooth and I want to transfer some files from my Android phone to the tablet. How can I do it through usb? Besides tablet is not detecting pendrive also. Is there any special setting for that?

Author: BatMan14327 Apr 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 2

i tried to purchase this micromax funbook infinity p275 tab but it is not available in any store in andhra pradesh, store people saying that this tab production has been stopped and taken back from the marcket. they saying that celkon ct7 tab is good than funbook infinity. plz post the review of celkon ct7

Author: BatMan14327 Apr 2013 Member Level: Bronze   Points : 2

please post celkon ct7 tab review considering the below points

1) is celkon ct7 has a GPU? what kind of GPU(Graphics Processing Unit)it has? is it has 2D/3D Graphics?

2) does this tab supports HD games like NFS MOST WANTED 2012 , N.O.V.A 3 and TEMPLE RUN ?

3) does this tab has direct access to google play store ?

Guest Author: Arup12 May 2013

Hi,I've taken temple run 4m a frnd via usb and installed.Wen started,it lagged quite a bit in my funbook.the game isn't workin smoothly.pls, tel me if the available temple run in play store works smooth or not.

Guest Author: Omkar adurkar21 May 2013

I bought Micromax Infinity 7 days ago. I noticed some apps go missing (automatically uninstalled) after 2 to 3 days. Why it is happening? Kindly suggest some solution.

Guest Author: K R KRISHNA KUMAR04 Jun 2013

I had purchased a Micromax Funbook 2/3 months back. I was using it with wifi, no problem. Recently, it is not catching wifi and it keeps searching and the wifi gets off. What could be the problem ? How to rectify it ?

Guest Author: micromax service hat14 Jun 2013

I have bought a micromax infinity there r some problems
1)touch is not working at left bottom end
2)touch at right end from top to bottom is not frequently working
(some time it works some time it doesn't)
3)I have only 2gb internal but micromax specified 4gb

I went to micromax service center and said my problem for about 5times 5diffrent centers all mans just rebooted the android that's it they did

Guest Author: ak08 Jul 2013

I want this tablet mainly for reading pdf files, Powerpoint, MS Word and Excel. I won't play games or browse internet. I am a doctor and I cant charge frequently. So I am a looking for a tablet where its good to read books with battery lasting for atleast 6 hours while reading and within a price range of 6k. Kindly suggest me the best tablet within Rs 6,000.

Guest Author: ak08 Jul 2013

Does it have inbuilt pdf reader? Will it work with Reliance Netconnect dongle ? How long battery lasts on watching videos continuously?

Guest Author: vijay10 Jul 2013

I have been using it for the past few days. It seems to be doing well and is ideal to read books and play simple non-3D games. But it lags sometimes and I had to reboot it a couple of times. It can be used with Reliance netconnect+ and WiFi seems to be fine. GPS seems to be available. Atleast there is a button to turn it on/off. I haven't used it though.

Guest Author: Htsh singhsta20 Jul 2013

Can I use pen drive in Micromax Infinity? Does Micromax tablets have the USB ports to use pendrives?

Guest Author: suhel09 Aug 2013

I bought infinity p275 5 months back and used the play store just 2 times and now its not working at all. Whenever I try to open, it keeps on loading and finally gives up saying time out. Can anybody here help me out in solving this problem?

Guest Author: PULKIT SAXENA11 Aug 2013

hi
how we can scroll up and down in recovery mode in micromax p-275 (infinity)as there are no. physical volume key or home key.there are only power button(used for selecting) and reset botton(of no use in recovery mode).....pls help me....

Guest Author: Rajeev Raj27 Feb 2014

I am using Micromax Infinity P275 tablet. It is a nice tablet. However, I like to upgrade to Android Jelly Bean. Is it possible to upgrade Micromax Infinity P275 to Android Jelly Bean? Can anybody give step by step instructions?



  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:
    Email: