You must Sign In to post a response.
  • Category: Other Social Networking Topics

    How to delete Orkut account permanently?


    Have you heard about the news that Orkut is going to shout down on 30th September? read this thread to know how you can permanently delete your Orkut accounts.

    Orkut is going to shut-down on 30th September'2014. However, after the invention of Facebook, our Orkut accounts have hardly been used. Still, there are lakhs of active Orkut accounts which need to be de-activated. It is important that we keep our online presence updated. So, I wanted to know how can we permanently delete Orkut account?
  • #6325
    Think twice before deleting your orkut account because this is will not be undone in any case.

    Follow below Steps to delete your Orkut account:
    1. After login click on settings. (For selecting setting click on a gear icon)
    2. Now you will be able to see the General Tab.
    3. On that tab click on delete my Orkut account.
    4. Click on delete my account link.
    5. Now you will be redirected to the delete Orkut page of your Google Account.
    6. Check the option for permanently deleting the account.
    7. Enter password to delete your account permanently.

    Now you will never be able to access your Orkut profile.

  • #6350
    Now it’s time to say good bye to Orkut. Perhaps Orkut community was one of the best social media to interact with people and friends previously. Now after the successful launch of Google+, Google is finally shutting down Orkut on September 30, 2014. Until then you may use Orkut as normal. You can also export your photo albums to Google+. You can save your Orkut profile, scraps, testimonials, & community posts to your computer using Google Takeout and this can be done until September 2016.

    However if you want to permanently close your account then follow the below procedure:
    • Log in to your Gmail then click on account then click Data tools.

    • Next to "Account management", click Delete products.

    • Click Remove Orkut permanently. Within a few days, all your Orkut information will be deleted, including anything you posted in Orkut communities.

  • #6372
    I think you should not worry about closing Orkut account as Google has officially announced to shut Orkut community and its social networking. So, You have to just backup important stuffs before they officially close Orkut.

    When you open your Orkut account, you will see a message, 'Orkut will not be available after September 30, 2014'

    Paresh Gujarati,
    Pursuing PhD,
    NIT-Surat

  • #6373
    Unless you want to take a backup of your stuff such as your posts etc before you exit Orkut, you can just leave your account as it is.. the data will eventually be deleted once they shut down the service after Sep 2k14.


  • Sign In to post your comments